Saturday, July 16, 2016

Story County 4-H Reunion July 24, 2106

Come to the 2016 4-H Reunion at the Story County Fair. It will be Sunday, July 24, 2-4 pm in Christy 4-H Hall. What fun to see old friends and reminisce about past memories.

The program will begin at 2:15 pm. This year the program will honor former and present Fair Board members. They will be recognized for all the time and effort they give to make the county fair a success. You may have a relative or friend who was on the fair board in the past or is on it currently. We encourage families and friends to join the celebration. You may pick up a printed program listing fair board members from 1940 to 2016. It will also list their years of service.

Other parts of the program will include introducing the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame honoree who will represent Story County at the Iowa State Fair in August. The 4-H Alum of the Year will be presented and 4-H’er Avery Mather will share what excites her about 4-H today. Prizes for the 4-H’ers in Action contest will be awarded. The Story County 4-H Foundation will present scholarship recipients, grant recipients, and recognize donors for their generosity. They will share what the Foundation has accomplished with the money for the benefit of the 4-H’ers of Story County. Jason Mortvedt, a 4-H alum from Ames will be the emcee.

That afternoon, be sure to browse through the Story County 4-H History display in the meeting room next to Christy 4-H Hall. It features a number of books over the years, starting in 1917. You may find pictures and clippings featuring people you have known. Anyone who enjoys talking bout 4-H, both now and the past will enjoy this afternoon. Refreshments are courtesy of South Story Bank and Trust.

2001 Story County Fair Board
Pictured (Front, l-r): Larry Hall, Dave Moody, Don Struthers, Steve Moser, Dennis Romsey, Greg Sindt. (Back, l-r): Terry Robinson, Nancy Couser, Nelda Christian, Carl Link, Bob Williams, James Romer, Ann Lem, Lorraine Hoffman.

1964 Story County Fair Board
 Front Row – Loy Black, Dean Handsaker, Leonard Dueland, Twedt Hanson, Arthur Riley.  Back Row – Herb Reinertson, Allen Anderson, Bob Zeisneiss, Virgil Brooks, Orlin Lein, Vern Noring.  (Absent are Marshall Thompson and Hubert Twit.)